top of page

NaNoWriMo Week 2 Update!





NaNoWriMo Week 2 Update!


Hi everyone! Back again with another NaNo weekly update!


First off, this month is flying by. Second off, the words in my project are flying by.


It is day fourteen and I am sitting at 52,000 words. Yup. And I have all to thank my best Preptober self that filled almost one and a half notebooks of brainstorming and thorough outlining.


So, let’s get into it.


This week was very strong. I also got very lucky. An unfortunate but fortunate situation came around: Hurricane Nicole. This strike of mather nature lent me a helping hand by canceling my Thursday classes last week, followed by canceled classes that Friday for Veteran’s Day. So, a four-day weekend with rain and gloomy weather!


Talk about a perfect worst-case scenario situation.


I got 22,000 words in over those four days and read two books. How in the world did I do that? A quick run down; I visually track my progress in an overly obsessive five different ways. I also outline by scene so I strategize by getting myself to write two scenes a day; preferably one in the morning, one in the afternoon, and then a third time before bed where I read through what I have written and make minor changes, correct my grammar, and add or take out what needs to be.


I know this is a lot. This is also a two-and-a-half draft I am calling it, so I am fairly familiar with the story and am allowing myself to intuitively polish it as I go.


My best advice is to wake up a few minutes early and get in a 20-30 minute writing sprint. On your lunch break or time in between classes, do another 20-30 minute writing sprint. Then at night write some more or read it over or do whatever. Starting in the morning though, whether it is a single sentence or a whole scene. Breaking that barrier of the blank page on a new day helps get the ball rolling and momentum moving.





Also, I write a lot. I journal, write blog posts, write book reviews, write on Twitter… I just write a lot. So my speed has picked up over time. I admit I do write fast. But that does not take away from the idea that anyone can get a lot of words in. Just like how you take time to work out or make a healthy meal rather than throw a frozen meal in the microwave, taking that extra intricate time to write is important if it is just a hobby or a passion.


For me, it is a passion and I dedicate my time now knowing how happy and proud I will be in the future. It is all about balance. If it really matters to you, you will find the time. That is at least what I have repeated to myself.


Plus, during NaNoWriMo, you should write what excites you! Write about a person, a concept, or a place that you adore. That makes you want to get up in the morning and reread and write more. I am prone to not liking my writing. I love the story idea but I always find a way to tell myself I do not like my story.


That is just self-doubt weaving its way in. You will most likely not like your voice audibly, as I have mentioned before, so why would it be different visually? Your voice projects on the page, the best thing I have done for myself is self-acceptance. Accept that every writer is inevitably going to go through this. Everyone perceives themself differently than the crowd.


And finally, I keep this in my mind every time I go into a writing session. As much as I want to be a “successful” author, I must ground myself in the reason why I started. Because I love to write! I love to tell stories!


Do it for you now, let it seek an audience later! Just get the dang book written! You got this!


So, I am hoping to come at you this time next week on the verge of ending the draft! I am super motivated by this story. Here are some more hints and keywords to my story if you stuck around this long;


;) vampires, sorcerers, second realm, fall & winter, New York City, secrecy, magic, soulmates, posh teenagers, emotions, black and white, gossip, high school, old money, supernatural, clues.


See you next week!

Olivia B.





bottom of page